PML-N nominates Raja Zafar-ul-Haq as candidate for Senate chairman


Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) on Monday has nominated Raja Zafar-ul-Haq as a party’s candidate for Senate chairman polls.

Talking to media, Mushahid Ullah has said that Usman Kakar will be candidate for deputy chairman.

All political outfits have expedited their efforts as time for Senate election nears. The quaid for life of PMLN—Nawaz Sharif—has received assurance from his allies that they would support candidates nominated by Sharif.

On the other hand, PPP and PTI-backed candidates for the office of Chairman, Sadiq Sanjrani and Deputy Chairman, Saleem Mandviwalla have filed their nomination papers for the election being held this afternoon.

It is to be mentioned here that the elections for chairman and deputy chairman will be carried out at 4:00pm today.

Earlier, as many as 52 newly-elected Senators have taken oath during a session in the Upper House.

The session chaired by presiding officer Sardar Yaqoob commenced at 10:00 am. Former finance minister Ishaq Dar did not attend the ceremony as he is in London for medical treatment.

On March 3, the ruling Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz) won 15 seats to establish dominance in the Senate despite Pakistan Peoples’ Party’s (PPP) surprising performance on 52-seat contest.

In the elections held for 52 seats in the Upper House, the PML-N and allies took their Senate tally to 46, becoming the largest party in Senate too. PML-N won 11 seats from Punjab and two each from Islamabad and KPK. PPP, winning 10 seats from Sindh and 2 from KPK, managed12 seats. PTI bagged 5 seats from KPK and one from Punjab.

Two candidates of the Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam-F, Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party and National Party each, one candidate from each of the MQM, Jamaat-i-Islami and PML-F returned successful on the 52 of the 104 Senate seats. In addition, 12 of the seats went to the independent candidates.