Joint opposition has decided to field former Punjab CM and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) President Shehbaz Sharif for Prime Minister slot.

Joint opposition held an important consultative meeting late Saturday that was attended by all political parties.

Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) has already nominated Khursheed Shah for Speaker National Assembly.

Earlier on Saturday, Joint opposition had announced to stage protest against election results on August 8 in Islamabad and on August 9 across the country.

The leaders named the opposition as ‘Pakistan Alliance for Free and Fair Election’ and also finalised the candidates for prime minister, speaker and deputy speaker posts.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leader Jahangir Tareen said that it has completed the number game, and will comfortably form governments in the Centre and Punjab as more independent candidates joined PTI.

He claimed that out of 13 independents elected to the National assembly, nine have joined PTI.

PTI spokesman Fawad Chaudhry told claimed that they have achieved 180 seats in the National Assembly as 25 independent MPAs, out of total 28, and nine independent MNAs have joined the PTI.

Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) had signed a memorandum of understanding for the formation of a new government in the centre. The agreement was signed by MQM-P s Faisal Sabzwari and PTI leader Arif Alvi.

The PTI had taken the decisive lead by winning 116 seats against former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif s Pakistan Muslim League- Nawaz (PML-N) and former President Asif Zardari s Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP) which won 64 and 43 seats, respectively.

Besides these three major parties, Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal Pakistan won 13 seats, Muttahida Qaumi Movement Pakistan six seats, Pakistan Muslim League and Balochistan Awami Party four seats each, Balochistan National Party and Grand Democratic Alliance two seats each, Awami Muslim League Pakistan, Awami National Party, Jamhoori Wattan Party and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaniat one seat each.

Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N), Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA), and the Awami National Party (ANP).