Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) chairman Imran Khan arrived in National Assembly on Monday to attend the first of the revamped House.

At least 300 personnel are performing their duties as prime minister-in-waiting Imran Khan reached to the parliament from Bani Gala.

Several politicians including Shireen Mazari, Asad Umer, Pervez Khattak, Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Marriyum Aurangzeb, Munazza Hassan, Asif Ali Zardari, Bilawal Bhutto and Shah Mehmood Qureshi have reached the National Assembly while the arrival process continue.

Strict security arrangements have been made for the occasion as at least a thousand security men have been deployed in and oustide the parliament building.

Newly elected members of lower house of parliament will take oath today during the 15th assembly session which is scheduled to meet at 10am.

The Constitution makes it mandatory to convene NA session within 21 days of general elections. Speaker NA Ayaz Sadiq will preside over the historic session. In the first session, newly elected members of the lower house of the parliament will take oath. Following this, the MNAs will go into voting to pick speaker and deputy speaker. The deadline for submitting nomination papers for slot of NA speaker and deputy is 12AM, Tuesday. Voting for aforementioned slots will take place on August 15.

The ballot for prime minister and opposition leader will be held shortly after.

Several political bigwigs including Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, ] and former Punjab law minister Rana Sanaullah will make their debut in the NA. Likewise, Asif Ali Zardari will step into the parliament after span of 25 years in capacity of MNA.

However, many big guns including likes of JUI (F) chief Maulana Fazalur Rehman and PkAMP chieftain Mahmood Khan Achakzai failed to make their way into the lower house of the parliament.