Former president Asif Ali Zardari revealed his important announcement on Tuesday stating that he along with Bilawal Bhutto Zardari would contest elections and enter the current Parliament.

Addressing the rally in Garhi Khuda Baksh, the former president announced the good news he had promised after his arrival in Pakistan after 18 months. “The good news is that in this election, both I and Bilawal will enter this Parliament”.

The former president said he would contest elections from Nawabshah and party chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari would contest from Larkana. “I will contest the election on my sister’s seat and Bilawal on Soomro sahib’s seat,” he said, while speaking to PPP workers.

In reference to Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, Asif Zardari said “Bilawal’s demands from you are democratic; he has not threatened to take to streets or to attack democracy in the state,” he noted.

“I am not coming to the Parliament to topple you; we only intend to teach you certain things, to consult with you on national issues,” the PPP co-chairman addressed to the prime minister.

“We have fought dictators, but never raised our voice against the military,” he said.

Zardari also criticized PM Nawaz Sharif for his cordial ties with his Indian counterpart saying, “Mian sahib have you ever thought of the children in Kashmir as to what do they feel when you have luncheons with Narendra Modi”.

Asif Ali Zardari said his party has no objection over an Ehtesab Commissioner picked by the Supreme Court. “We are not afraid of courts,” he said, adding, “The case in which Babar Awan’s license was cancelled should also be reopened.

Ayaz Soomro, Azra Afzal resign
Ayaz Soomro and Azra Afzal, Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) lawmakers from Larkana and Nawabshah, have presented their resignations to the party after party co-chairman Asif Ali Zardari said that he along with Bilawal Bhutto Zardari would contest elections and enter the current Parliament.

According to PPP sources, the resignations would be presented during the next central executive meeting of the party.

Azra Afzal is PPP lawmaker from NA-213 Nawabshah whereas Ayaz Soomro is a PPP MNA from NA-204 Larkana.