The Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) on Monday finalised the names for the caretaker prime minister and the Punjab chief minister, DawnNewsTV reported.

Retired Justice Tassaduq Hussain Jillani, industrialist Abdur Razzaq Dawood and banker-cum-economist Ishrat Hussain were the three nominees finalised by the party for the position of caretaker prime minister, PTI Spokesman Fawad Chaudhry said.

The present government will conclude its five-year term on May 31, after which the caretaker setup will be put in place to hold elections, expected in July or the first week of August.

According to the party, Shah Mehmood Qureshi will present the names to Leader of the Opposition in National Assembly Khursheed Shah, who is responsible for forwarding opposition nominees for the position to the prime minister.