ECP to decide names of caretaker Punjab, Balochistan CMs


Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) will decide on names for caretaker chief ministers of Punjab and Balochistan as provincial parliamentary committees have failed to reach consensus about it.

Punjab committee comprising Rana Sanaullah, Malik Ahmed Khan, Khawaja Imran from the government side and Mahmood-ur-Rasheed, Sabtain Khan and Shoaib Siddique from opposition met today to discuss caretaker CM issue.

During the meeting, names of Hassan Askari, Ayaz Amir, Zakaullah and retired Justice Sair Ali were taken under consideration. However, the meeting ended without any finalization.

Earlier in a statement issued today, ECP spokesman said Balochistan and Punjab assemblies completed their constitutional term on 31st of the last month.

He said the chief ministers and opposition leaders of the two assemblies had time to decide names of caretaker chief ministers by 3rd of this month, and then parliamentary committees had three days to decide, which will complete today.